Cincinnati Children's Blog

Celiac Disease: List of Gluten-Free and Gluten-Containing Ingredients

Celiac Disease: List of Gluten-Free and Gluten-Containing Ingredients
When your child is diagnosed with celiac disease, deciding what to eat can feel overwhelming! That’s why we’ve put together a list of safe and unsafe ingredients for kids and parents to reference.

The good news is that there are many gluten-free grains to choose from. Here’s a list of gluten-free and gluten-containing ingredients:

[vc_tta_accordion active_section=”999″ collapsible_all=”true” css=”.vc_custom_1494503270675{background-color: #ffffff !important;}”][vc_tta_section title=”Gluten-Free Grains” tab_id=”1494452726153-6ee798fc-6368″]
Amaranth
Brown rice
Buckwheat
Grits
Hominy
Kasha
Millet
Oats
Polenta
Quinoa
Sorghum
Teff
Wild rice
[/vc_tta_section][vc_tta_section title=”Gluten-Containing Grains to Avoid” tab_id=”1494452726248-8f98c95a-a4b4″]
Barley, barley extract, barley malt
Bran
Bulgur
Couscous
Durum
Einkorn
Emmer
Farina
Faro
Graham flour
Kamut
[/vc_tta_section][vc_tta_section title=”Other Ingredients that Contain Gluten” tab_id=”1494452845386-66315bc4-3d31″]
Breading
Brown rice syrup
Most cereals
Malt vinegar; malt; malt flavoring; malt syrup
Panko bread crumbs
Soy sauce
Triticale
Udon noodles
Wheat bran/germ/gluten/starch
[/vc_tta_section][vc_tta_section title=”Other Ingredients that MAY Contain Gluten” tab_id=”1494453461535-61de0fbf-7d63″]
Bouillon/broth
Caramel color
Modified starch
Dextrin
Starch
Texturized vegetable protein
Flavoring or seasoning packets
Vegetable gum
Natural flavors
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
[/vc_tta_section][/vc_tta_accordion]

Write a Comment

No Comments Yet